Skip to content Skip to footer


For the sixth consecutive year, the Guanajuato International Film Festival presents the Identity and Belonging Collegiate Documentary Contest, with the support of the State of Guanajuato and the Mexican Film Institute through the National Council for Culture and the Arts (CONACULTA-IMCINE).
The competition’s main objective is to promote a sense of identity with and connection to Guanajuato—a region filled with tradition—among the younger generation. The contestants are asked to produce a documentary that illustrates their interests, concerns and expectations with respect to their surroundings, their family life and their day-to-day lives, which are ultimately stories of their own. Through the process of creating personal, professional and universal projects, they build a bond with their community, and by shedding light on the issues addressed, they can come up with solutions.
A call for entries was launched on October 1, 2014, subsequent to which a total of 40 projects from different universities were received. Each project was evaluated and six finalists were selected. Their goal is to produce a professional 10-minute documentary, which will premiere at the Guanajuato International Film Festival, and will go on to be shown at a variety of cultural and educational events during the rest of the year.
Each team received $20,000 pesos to finance their projects and embarked on a series of workshops over the course of six months. These workshops were imparted by industry experts and cover different aspects of filmmaking including: theme, story, narrative structure, crowdfunding, production, cinematography, sound production, editing and post-production.
By virtue of this program, the Guanajuato International Film Festival offers university students the opportunity to present—through the medium of film—the local context within the State of Guanajuato, including its people and its traditions, contributing to the promotion of the region’s history and identity.
The top three documentaries will be selected by a jury of film industry professionals who will award the following prizes: